txtasfen.blogg.se

Wilko johnson she does it right
Wilko johnson she does it right





wilko johnson she does it right

wilko johnson she does it right

Roger phoned me and said ‘listen we should make an album together’ and I said ‘we better do it quick!’ One of them was that Roger Daltrey got in touch. In fact, this was the beginning of one of the greatest years of my life laughs waiting to die from cancer! Many, many strange things happened to me that year. They said that they couldn’t do anything for me. “I got cancer, when was it? Five years ago was it? I was told I had less than a year to live – 10 months they said. Wilko Johnson & Roger Daltrey – ‘Going Back Home’ (2014) “This one is The Rolling Stones and probably their classic song ‘Brown Sugar’.” I was sitting there in Hyde Park with my long hair and The Stones came on with this new guitar player (Mick Taylor) and I turned round to Irene (Wilko’s late wife) and went ‘they should have had me!’ I saw them at the famous Hyde Park gig (on 5th July 1969) after Brian Jones died. It was band that you knew your parents hated! The Beatles were all well and good, but your granny liked them… but The Stones, your mum and dad were never going to approve. It was such a great thing, we all started growing our hair long and everything. “I was 16 when The Rolling Stones first burst forth. Actually, they never did ask me in the end! And in the NME, they were running a sort of book putting odds on people who was going to get the gig and at one point I was the favourite! I thought if they ask me I will go to the auditions just to say ‘yes, I played with the Rolling Stones’. Feelgood, we were just starting then – we were playing in the pubs then. “Well, The Rolling Stones are rock stars, but they’re THE rock stars, aren’t they?! When Mick Taylor left the band, people were speculating on who was gonna be the guitar player and Dr. Listen to Wilko Johnson on Time To Listen:

wilko johnson she does it right

Wilko also spoke about the Bob Dylan song that inspired him to play guitar, how Van Morrison’s music helped him pluck up the courage to meet his future wife, and why The Rolling Stones are the ultimate rock stars. On his very special episode of Time To Listen, Wilko opens up about how his collaboration with Roger Daltrey, ‘Going Back Home’, was written when while he was facing imminent death.

#Wilko johnson she does it right free

However, after a successful operation to remove the tumour, amazingly Wilko revealed to the world he was cancer free at The Q Awards later that year. Ĭited by Paul Weller as a highly influential guitarist thanks to his distinctive choppy playing style, Wilko has also embarked on an acting career, starring as mute executioner Ser Ilyn Payne in Game of Thrones.ĭevastatingly, Wilko was diagnosed with late stage pancreatic cancer in January 2013 and was given just 10 months to live by doctors. Feelgood emerged from the pub rock scene and scored hits with rhythm and blues tinged tunes like ‘She Does It Right’, ‘Roxette’ and ‘Back in the Night’. Wilko shot to fame in the early 1970s when Dr.







Wilko johnson she does it right